» » SFJazz Collective - SFJazz Collective 2

SFJazz Collective - SFJazz Collective 2 album download

SFJazz Collective - SFJazz Collective 2 album download
Contemporary Jazz
  • Performer:
    SFJazz Collective
  • Title:
    SFJazz Collective 2
  • Genre:
  • Style:
    Contemporary Jazz
  • Date of release:
  • Country:
  • Size FLAC version
    1178 megabytes
  • Size MP3 version
    1250 megabytes
  • Size WMA version
    1173 megabytes
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

Founded by SFJAZZ in 2004, the SFJAZZ Collective is a leaderless group and a democratic composer’s workshop that represents what’s happening now in jazz. The SFJAZZ Collective has gone though numerous line up changes over the years and has featured Bobby Hutcherson, Joshua Redman, Miguel Zenón, Robin Eubanks, Eric Harland, Mark Turner, Matt Penman, Avishai Cohen, Sean Jones, Andre Hayward, Stefon Harris, Dave Douglas, Nicholas Payton, Joe Lovano, Josh Roseman, Renee Rosnes, Jeff Ballard, Robert Hurst, Brian Blade and others.

SFJazz Collective ‎– SFJazz Collective 2. Label: Nonesuch ‎– 7559-79930-2. Recorded live in performance during the SFJazz Collective's San Francisco residency and tour throughout California in March and April, 2005 Additional recording at Skywalker Ranch, Chicago Symphony Center and Jazz at Lincoln Center Mastered at Sterling Sound, New York, NY. Duration: Estimated time multimedia application.

The SFJAZZ Collective is an American jazz ensemble comprising eight performer/composers, launched in 2004 by SFJAZZ, a West Coast non-profit jazz institution and the presenter of the annual San Francisco Jazz Festival, with funding from the James Irvine Foundation. The SFJAZZ Collective performs a new repertoire each year, one that balances the works of a great modern jazz composer from the post-1960 era and eight new compositions (commissioned by SFJAZZ), one from each band member

Selections from that season comprise SFJAZZ Collective 2. The 2006 SFJAZZ Collective line-up includes returning members Joshua Redman, Bobby Hutcherson, Nicholas Payton, Miguel Zenón, Renee Rosnes, Matt Penman, and Eric Harland, plus newcomer Andre Hayward on trombone. Nonesuch released SFJAZZ Collective’s second album-SFJAZZ Collective 2-on March 14, 2006. Saxophonist, composer, and bandleader Joshua Redman-whom The Los Angeles Times has called one of the most vital figures in jazz of the new century -created the SFJAZZ Collective with the San Francisco Jazz Organization (SFJAZZ) two years ago. The resident and touring ensemble is composed of eight musicians/composers drawn from the top ranks of today’s jazz artists.

The Music of Michael Jackson and Original Compositions Live: Sfjazz Center October 22 Through 25, 2015. The Music of Joe Henderson and Original Compositions Live: Sfjazz Center October 23 Through 26, 2014. 10th Anniversary: Best of Live at the Sfjazz Center, October 10 - 13, 2013.

SFJAZZ Collective - Live 2005 - 2nd Annual Concert Tour - Originals Compositions And Works By John Coltrane (SFJAZZ Records 0641444973620). Nicholas Payton, trumpet; Isaac Smith, trombone; Miguel Zenon, alto sax, flute; Joshua Redman, tenor, soprano sax; Bobby Hutcherson, vibes, marimba; Renee Rosnes, piano; Matt Penman, bass; Eric Harland, drums. SFJAZZ Collective 2 (Nonesuch 79930-2).

1. (00:05:52) SFJazz Collective - Moment's Notice. 2. (00:05:46) SFJazz Collective - Naima. 3. (00:06:58) SFJazz Collective - Scrambled Eggs. 4. (00:13:24) SFJazz Collective - Half Full. 5. (00:11:24) SFJazz Collective - 2 And 2. 6. (00:08:49) SFJazz Collective - Crescent. 7. (00:14:03) SFJazz Collective - Africa. 8. (00:09:05) SFJazz Collective - Development. 2006 - SFJazz Collective 2/ - . 0. 2006 - SFJazz Collective 2/Scans/ - . 2006 - SFJazz Collective 2/Scans/Booklet p02,03.

SF Jazz Collective wowed critics and jazz fans alike with their debut offering on Nonesuch.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Moment's Notice
Composed By – John Coltrane
2 Naima
Composed By – John Coltrane
3 Scrambled Eggs
Composed By – Nicholas Payton
4 Half Full
Composed By – Joshua Redman
5 2 And 2
Composed By – Miguel Zenon
6 Crescent
Composed By – John Coltrane
7 Africa
Composed By – John Coltrane
8 Development
Composed By – Eric Harland

Companies, etc.

  • Mastered At – Sterling Sound


  • Alto Saxophone, Flute – Miguel Zenón*
  • Arranged By – Gil Goldstein
  • Bass – Matt Penman
  • Design – Doyle Partners
  • Drums – Eric Harland
  • Executive-Producer – Randall Kline
  • Liner Notes – Bob Blumenthal
  • Mastered By – Greg Calbi
  • Photography By – Jay Blakesberg
  • Piano – Renee Rosnes
  • Producer [Associate] – Laura Evans
  • Recorded By [Additional Recording: Chicago Symphony Center] – Christopher Willis
  • Recorded By [Additional Recording: Jazz At Lincoln Center] – Sandra Palmer-Grassi*
  • Recorded By [Additional Recording: Skywalker Ranch] – Leslie Ann Jones
  • Recorded By, Mixed By, Producer – Jeff Cressman
  • Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Art Direction, Co-producer – Joshua Redman
  • Trombone – Isaac Smith
  • Trumpet – Nicholas Payton
  • Vibraphone, Marimba – Bobby Hutcherson


Recorded live in performance during the SFJazz Collective's San Francisco residency and tour throughout California in March and April, 2005
Additional recording at Skywalker Ranch, Chicago Symphony Center, and Jazz at Lincoln Center

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (text): 0 75597 99302 8
  • Barcode (string): 075597993028
  • Matrix / Runout: Z49806 M1S2 1 79930-2 02
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L909
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 2U7N

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
7559-79930-2 SFJazz Collective SFJazz Collective 2 ‎(CD, Album) Nonesuch 7559-79930-2 Europe 2006
PRO 301930 SFJazz Collective SFJazz Collective 2 ‎(CD, Album, Promo, Car) Nonesuch PRO 301930 US 2006