» » The Beautiful South - Gaze

The Beautiful South - Gaze album download

The Beautiful South - Gaze album download
Brit Pop
  • Performer:
  • Title:
  • Genre:
  • Style:
    Brit Pop
  • Date of release:
  • Country:
  • Size FLAC version
    1894 megabytes
  • Size MP3 version
    1463 megabytes
  • Size WMA version
    1514 megabytes
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

The Beautiful South were an English pop rock group formed in 1988 by Paul Heaton and Dave Hemingway, two former members of the Hull group the Housemartins, both of whom performed lead and backing vocals. Other members throughout the band's existence were former Housemartins roadie Sean Welch (bass), Dave Stead (drums) and Dave Rotheray (guitar). The band's original material was written by the team of Heaton and Rotheray.

The Beautiful South ‎– Gaze. Label: Go! Discs ‎– 986590-0, Mercury ‎– 0-06024-9865900-7. Country: UK & Europe. Guitar, Performer – Dave Rotheray. Mastered By – Ray Staff. Percussion – Gary Hammond. Photography By – Ellis Parrinder. Piano, Keyboards – Damon Butcher. Producer – Jon Kelly, Paul Heaton. Producer, Mixed By – John Brough.

Band Name Beautiful South. 4. Life Vs. The Lifeless. 6. Let Go With the Flow. 8. Angels and Devils.

Album · 2003 · 11 Songs. More By The Beautiful South. See All. Gold Diggas, Head Nodders & Pholk Songs. Carry On Up the Charts - The Best of the Beautiful South.

Gaze is a poor, sickly little thing, a runt-of-the-litter album. It’s a headlong freefall into mediocrity, the band relying on torrential peltings of lyrics that all struggle to fit onto the tracks in time. Musically, it’s kept to the same ano setup, all mostly brisk, chirpy, shallow, and instantly forgettable.

Gold by The Beautiful South is the third greatest hits album to be released by the band. It is similar in design to other "Gold" albums released by bands either currently or previously of various labels under the Universal Music Group. The album is a 2 disc collection of both single and album tracks taken from the first 8 of the bands back catalogue. It was released without the band's consent and had zero input from the band.

The Beautiful South chronology. Golddiggas, Headnodders and Pholk Songs. Gaze is the eighth studio album by the rock band The Beautiful South. It was released in 2003 on Mercury Records. The release was accompanied by the Gaze With The Beautiful South tour. This was also the band debut for Allison Wheeler who replaced the departing Jacqui Abbott. All songs were written by Paul Heaton and Dave Rotheray.


1 Pretty 3:18
2 Just A Few Things That I Ain't 2:47
3 Sailing Solo 3:17
4 Life Vs. The Lifeless 3:34
5 Get Here 3:34
6 Let Go With The Flow 3:13
7 The Gates 4:10
8 Angels And Devils 2:49
9 101% Man 3:05
10 Half Of Him 4:27
11 Spit It All Out 4:42
12 The Last Waltz 3:55

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Go! Discs Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – Go! Discs Ltd.
  • Licensed To – Mercury Records Ltd.
  • Made By – Universal M & L, Germany
  • Published By – Universal Music Publishing Ltd.
  • Recorded At – Parr Street Studios
  • Recorded At – Hook End Manor
  • Mixed At – Stanley House
  • Mastered At – Sony Music Studios, London


  • Artwork – Ryan Art
  • Bass, Performer [The Beautiful South Are] – Sean Welch
  • Drums, Performer [The Beautiful South Are] – David Stead
  • Guitar, Performer [The Beautiful South Are] – Dave Rotheray*
  • Mastered By – Ray Staff
  • Percussion – Gary Hammond
  • Photography By – Ellis Parrinder
  • Piano, Keyboards – Damon Butcher
  • Producer – Jon Kelly, Paul Heaton
  • Producer, Mixed By – John Brough
  • Programmed By – Gary Wallis
  • Saxophone – Kevin Brown
  • Trumpet – Tony Robinson
  • Vocals, Performer [The Beautiful South Are] – Alison "Lady" Wheeler*, Dave Hemingway*, Paul Heaton
  • Written-By – Rotheray*, Heaton*


UK promotional version.
Published by Universal Music Publishing Ltd.
Recorded at Parr Street, Liverpool and Hook End, Oxfordshire. Mixed at Stanley House, Acton.
℗ & © 2003 Go! Discs Ltd.
Made in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LV26
  • Label Code: LC00268
  • Rights Society: BIEM/MCPS

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
986590-0, 0-06024-9865900-7 The Beautiful South Gaze ‎(CD, Album) Go! Discs, Mercury 986590-0, 0-06024-9865900-7 UK & Europe 2003
none The Beautiful South Gaze ‎(Cass, Album) Go! Discs none Malaysia 2003
986 569-4, 0-06024-9865694-5 The Beautiful South Gaze ‎(CD, Album, S/Edition) Go! Discs, Mercury 986 569-4, 0-06024-9865694-5 UK 2003
none The Beautiful South Gaze ‎(CDr, Album, Promo) Mercury none UK 2003
0249865900 The Beautiful South Gaze ‎(CD, Album) Mercury 0249865900 Canada 2003