» » The Relatives - The Electric Word

The Relatives - The Electric Word album download

The Relatives  - The Electric Word album download
Funk, Psychedelic, Gospel
  • Performer:
    The Relatives
  • Title:
    The Electric Word
  • Genre:
  • Style:
    Funk, Psychedelic, Gospel
  • Date of release:
  • Country:
  • Size FLAC version
    1672 megabytes
  • Size MP3 version
    1169 megabytes
  • Size WMA version
    1275 megabytes
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

Deutsch English Español Français Italiano 日本語. All Versions. The Relatives (5) ‎– The Electric Word. Label: Yep Roc Records ‎– YEP-2309.

mp3 . 5 MB 02 - Let Your Light Shine 03 - Speak to Me (What's Wrong With America) 04 - Bad Trip 05 - Trouble In My Way 06 - We Need Love 07 - Revelations 08 - Your Love Is Real 09 - It's Coming Up Again 10 - I Will Trust In The Lord. Not a combination you hear very often.

The Electric Word (CD) The Relatives. Don't Let Me Fall - Gospel Funk (LP) The Relatives. First the guys at Antone's Records in Austin dug up some original Relatives 45s, then the Spoon drummer and producer Jim Eno got on board, next thing you know they've tracked the brothers down, and these old gospel dudes are blowing away crowds at Austin City Limits and Bonaroo. Jim Eno produced these new recordings, which have every inch as much fiery, thrilling psych-funk soul as the few extant classic original joints.

Backstories don’t come better than the one behind the Relatives. Four decades ago, they came together as a devout gospel trio with a thing for bad-ass psychedelic rock. Now they've come back with a broadened lineup and recorded a new album, "The Electric Word. It's vital enough to make their antique sound seem fresh. It doesn't hurt that so much time has passed since this sound held sway. Anyone of a certain age will remember the context from which the Relatives sprang. Back in the late '60s, a host of black bands fused soul with heavy rock, including the Chambers Brothers, Ike and Tina and The Barkays

The Electric Word is the first studio album from Dallas, TX’s The Relatives; and their first proper studio recordings in over 3 decades. Reunited and performing again live for the first time in nearly 30 years, The Relatives went into the studio in Austin, TX with producer Jim Eno (Spoon, Black Joe Lewis, Alejandro Escevedo) in early 2012 to record their very first full length studio album. 01. Things Are Changing 02. Let Your Light Shine 03.

The long-lost Dallas gospel-funk group release their first studio album more than thirty years after they broke up. By. Jeff Salamon. But it doesn’t end there. Next Tuesday, February 19, the Relatives will transcend their status as a vibrant oldies act when Yep Roc Records releases The Electric Word, the group’s brand new-and first-ever-studio record. Recorded with Spoon drummer Jim Eno behind the boards, The Electric Word is a thrilling testament to the Relatives’ belief in keeping one eye on the pews, one eye on the dancefloor, and an ear cocked to the strains of hard-rock radio

Includes FREE MP3 version of this album. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Formed in 1970 by gospel singer Rev. Gean West in Dallas, TX, The Relatives are purveyors of a unique sound that bridges the gap between traditional gospel, soul, and psychedelia. In addition to stunning vocal interplay that recalls classic-era Temptations, Sly & the Family Stone, and Funkadelic, the album also packs a lyrical punch.

The Relatives - Revelations The Electric Word, 2013 03:25. The Relatives - Triplex Sun Now Or Ever, 2002 02:45. The Relatives - So Uncool Dirty Little Secret, 2004 03:08. The Relatives - Seems So Real The Utopian Society: Motion Picture Soundtrack, 2008 03:25. The Relatives - Salton Sea Tilted World, 2015 04:30. The Relatives - Is It Wrong? Tilted World, 2015 03:55. The Relatives - Train Dirty Little Secret, 2004 04:12.

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Things Are Changing 3:52
A2 Let Your Light Shine 4:50
A3 Speak To Me (What's Wrong With America?) 4:40
A4 Bad Trip
Written-By – Raymond*, Reynolds*
A5 Trouble In My Way 0:59
B1 We Need Love 4:10
B2 Revelations
Written-By – Jordan*
B3 Your Love Is Real 3:44
B4 It's Coming Up Again 3:19
B5 I Will Trust In The Lord 3:26


  • Arranged By – The Relatives (tracks: A5, B5)
  • Art Direction – Noel Waggener
  • Baritone Saxophone – Joseph Woullard
  • Bass – Ronnie James*
  • Drums – Matthew Strmiska
  • Engineer [Additional] – Brad Bell, Matt Gerhard
  • Executive-Producer – Heavy Light Records
  • Guitar – Adrian Quesada
  • Guitar, Executive-Producer – Zach Ernst
  • Mastered By – Stan Getz*
  • Organ – Mike Flanigin
  • Producer, Engineer, Mixed By – Jim Eno
  • Tenor Saxophone – Jason Frey
  • Trumpet – Derek Phelps
  • Vocals – Jimmy Hall, Rev. Gean West*, Rev. Tommie West*, Tyron Edwards
  • Vocals, Bass, Guitar – Dale Burns
  • Vocals, Percussion – Earnest Tarkington
  • Written-By – The Relatives

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 634457230910

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
YEP-2309, none The Relatives The Electric Word ‎(LP, Album, 180 + CD, Album) Yep Roc Records, Heavy Light Records YEP-2309, none US 2013
CD-YEP-2309 The Relatives The Electric Word ‎(CD, Album, Promo) Yep Roc Records CD-YEP-2309 US 2013
YEP-2309 The Relatives The Electric Word ‎(CD, Album) Yep Roc Records YEP-2309 US 2013
YEP-2309, none The Relatives The Electric Word ‎(CD, Album) Yep Roc Records, Heavy Light Records YEP-2309, none US 2013